Things I love about Winter

Winter is coming and I HATE winter. Yes, I know what the heading of this post is. I may have been born in winter but for all intents and purposes I am a summer baby.

I love summer and everything that goes with it – swimming, ice- cream, the outdoors. Everything just feels fresh and fun.

Winter, on the other hand, is cold and dreary and I HATE getting cold. I hate having to wear three pairs of socks just to keep my feet warm because if my feet and hands are cold, my whole body is cold.

I honestly would not survive a winter in the Cape – being cold is one thing – but wet and cold, does not work for me!

That being said there are most definitely some things that I do enjoy about winter and I thought that this year I would be a bit more positive about winter. Here are a few things that I love about winter:

  1. I love jackets and winter is the perfect opportunity for me to add a few more jackets to my collection.
  2. Scarves- I have about 35 different types of scarves already (no kidding).
  3. Boots – I love boots!
  4. Soups, hearty stew and casseroles – these are some of my favourite dishes but it is simply too hot to enjoy in summer.
  5. OBS- Old Brown Sherry (need I say more?)
  6. The nights are so much longer and it always feels like I get more sleep in winter. It also feels like I sleep better in winter, all bundled under the blankets.

As you can see this is a very short list – did I mention that I HATE winter?

 

5 thoughts on “Things I love about Winter

  1. I have to agree with you I hate Winter too and have the same feelings about Cape Weather – cold AND wet no thank you. We could be virtual twins definitely as I walked from my car this morning thinking that I may just love this Winter. Since giving up smoking Jackets and Scarves have become my new favourite things (wearing clothes more than once without washing is a big no no for my slightly OCD self add smoking to that and jacket wearing just was not for me). I also feel the cold less since giving up smoking weird but a reality.
    Enjoy Winter – oh and stews the best food ever – comfort in a pot 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Say something- you know you want to!

