What my money buys

*I wrote this post last week but for some reason- it didn’t want to post. Probably a connection problem*

Yesterday was our annual budget speech.

As expected taxes will increase – it is as simple as that.

Being the law abiding citizen that I am, I pay my taxes (or more accurately, it is deducted from my salary so I really don’t have a choice in the matter).

As a tax- payer, this is what I (naively) believe that my hard earned, blood, sweat and tears, money pays for:

  1. A working health care system and proper hospitals. This is what I get.
    click on image for link
    click on image for link

     

  2. A proper education system. This is what I get.
    Click on image for link
    Click on image for link

     

  3. The fuel levy has just increased so it is not unreasonable for me to expect proper road infrastructure. This is what I get.
    click on image for link
    click on image for link

     

  4. The electricity levy has increased. This is what I get.
    click on image for link
    click on image for link

     

  5. Safety and security. This is what I get.
    click on image for link
    click on image for link

     

  6. Job creation. This is what I get.
    click on image for link
    click on image for link

     

  7. A growing economy. Okay – this is wishful thinking on my part.

After all the money that I spend on tax, with no return, it would not be unreasonable of me to enjoy a cigarette (no, I don’t smoke) or a drink (I only drink on special and odd occasions). Except these sin taxes are being increased and yes, some idiot actually gave a tip a tax on fast food should be implemented. I don’t really enjoy fast food but sometimes after a very long day, working to pay my taxes so that I can have things I will never really have, I would like to have a Steers burger without being taxed on it. Is that too much to ask?

But I digress…

Most importantly, what I get from my tax is this:

image taken from Facebook. If the images is yours, please let me know so that I can credit you.
Image taken from Facebook. If the images is yours, please let me know so that I can credit you.

And this is what he gets from my tax money:

click on image for llink
click on image for link

I am so glad I can help support his family when I can barely support mine.

Click on image for link
Click on image for link

Nkandla – Has electricity. Has proper roads. Is safe and secure (or it should be considering we spent R246 million on “security upgrades.” It also has a private clinic, amongst other things.

Whoopee, my tax money is being put to such good use.

click on image for link
click on image for link

 

3 thoughts on “What my money buys

  1. If it wasn’t so true and serious, your post would be funny. Being an honest law abiding tax paying citizen is becoming too much. The cost to company when employing staff is just becoming unmanageable with all the different taxes and compensations payable that the unemployment rate is just going to skyrocket, because small to medium business just can’t afford to employ staff.
    Have a lovely day despite the negativity that surrounds us daily

    Liked by 2 people

Say something- you know you want to!

