Urgh Traffic

How I feel every day (click on image for link)
How I feel every day (click on image for link)

I absolutely hate traffic. To be honest I do not know of anyone that actually likes traffic.

I stay 11km from my work and what used to be a 10-15 minute drive in the mornings over the last 3 years has suddenly turned into an hour drive this year. The only possible reason that I can think of as to why the traffic has become so bad is that there have been a number of new developments in my immediate and surrounding areas. There is also only one main road and you would think that when planning these developments, the developers and council would take the roads into account.

It can take me anything from 30 minutes to an hour and a half to get home in the afternoons. When there is load shedding it can take between 2 to 3 hours to get home. It is also not possible to determine the best times to leave in the afternoons to miss traffic as the traffic varies from day to day.

I was planning to either rent or sell my house in about 2 years time and move closer to work but I honestly cannot think that I can wait that long. I leave early enough as it is in the morning so leaving earlier does not really seem like an option.

To think of the time wasted in traffic.

 

2 thoughts on “Urgh Traffic

  1. Sympathies! I’ve also noticed a massive increase in traffic – at all times of the day. I don’t know where they are all going? 11km Ought to be a reasonable distance to travel, and the power cuts have just exacerbated the whole problem.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I totally agree with you about Town planning. Chad’s school is 6KM’s away and it takes over an hour to get from home to school. In the afternoons it takes 7 minutes. If we leave at 6.30 it takes 30 minutes. We have a walk over bridge which crosses the highway and he now gets dropped off there (his choice) and walks. What was once a quiet suburban road that his school is in has now become a road full of private schools and nursery schools as well as a Public school and new townhouse developments and only one road that joins the two suburbs. The other road on our side of the bridge has become a school parking lot and I feel so sorry for the people who live there, because it is also theoretically a quiet suburban road.

    Liked by 1 person

Say something- you know you want to!

