On This Day

Today is my mom’s birthday.

She has a love-hate relationship with her birthday (and it has nothing to do with the fact that she is a year older).

Almost every birthday that my mom has something bad happens. My mother can give you a long list and I can name at least two things which I remember. I was about 11 when I cut my finger open eating a peach. I had cut the vein and needed stitches. My mother was in the peach tree picking peaches with my dad and nearly fell out of the tree when she heard me (finally) scream. We had the best peaches and every year my dad would take bags and bags of peaches to his colleagues at work, my mom would make jars of peach jam and canned peaches. This is one of my favourite memories – the peaches, that is – not the stitches.

Yolandi’s funeral was on my mom’s birthday. Needless to say her birthday was mostly forgotten and we did not feel in the mood to celebrate. Also I got her the biggest chocolate something (forgive me for not remembering- my mind was on Yolandi’s funeral)- it melted in the car.

My eldest brother seems to share the same luck with my mother when it comes to birthdays – my mom’s uncle died on his birthday and my dad was cremated on his birthday ( it was the only time that they were doing the cremations). There have been other things that my brother can give you a long list of.

But on this day, and despite all the bad things that happen on my mom’s birthday, the best thing ever happened -My MOTHER was born.

On this day, the Lord blessed this earth with the most loving, most kind, most selfless person I have ever known.

On this day, he blessed me with a woman that I am proud to call my mother, a woman that has taught and shown me what a true mother is and what it means to be a mother.

My mother has taught me what it means to love, without condition. She has taught me how to forgive and the value of hard work. She has to taught me to stare adversity in the face and to overcome. She has taught me to believe in myself and never give up. She has shown and taught me strength.

I am who I am today because SHE is my mother.

I love you mom.

 

Say something- you know you want to!

