10 Things of Thankful #1

image

This month has not been a particulary good month for me and I am feeling exceptionally negative. The weeks leave has made me feel a bit better in that I feel rested and ready to take on the mountains of work waiting for me when I get back tomorrow and going into the next two and a half month that are going to be hectic.

In trying to dig myself out of this negative hole that I find myself in, I thought I should join the Ten Things of Thankful group and start counting my blessings.

So here’s what I am thankful for this week (I can’t promise it will be 10)

1. Having the week off to just rest and be.
2. Having my hair cut and coloured. I have not cut my hair since the end of April as things have just been too hectic. I cut it quite short this time and am debating whether I like it or not.
3. I got a few things for my garden. Hopefully it will also keep the dogs out and make it look pretty.
4. The insurance has finally paid for the repairs from the accident, but now it is a question of finding the time in the next 2 weeks to take the car in as I am going to be exceptionally busy and I need the car.
5. Mum finally got her glasses and now that is one less thing for me to worry about.
6. I bought another dress – I still don’t know what’s happening to me.
7. I spent some time with my family yesterday, which I have not been able to do the last 3 months because of everything going on in my life. It was good to see them.
8. I’m going shopping today. Yes for another dress!
9. No matter what is going on in my life, I am blessed. I need to realise and appreciate that.

19 thoughts on “10 Things of Thankful #1

  1. Welcome to the TToT! I hope you find both the writing and the comments to be therapeutic for you. We’re a pretty fun group, and I’m glad you have joined us!

    I don’t think I own any dresses. Skirts, yes, but not dresses; I am tall, and they never fit me right.

    I love getting my hair cut; I just don’t like finding the time to schedule it. My favorite part is having my hair washed. I could sit there, as uncomfortable as it is to lean back over that bowl, and have it washed for half an hour without complaining.

    I’m all about the silver lining, so I agree that no matter what, I am blessed. The TToT really helps me recognize that!

    Like

  2. I will add my welcome (as the sole Y chrome co-host) in the remarkable bloghop.
    There are some rather amazing people who join this hop each weekend, and while it might not totally change a life, there is no question of the positive effects that I have witnessed since this thing started.
    …and we have fun, too!

    Like

  3. Oy hair cuts. I put mine off for way too long. I have recently joined this blog hop and it does help. This is my fourth consecutive week and it is helping. Not only to write mine but to read others too!

    Like

    1. Thanks. Its nice to spoil ourselves once in a while. I am looking forward to linking up with everyone and reading what they are thankful for. It often also give perspective.

      Like

  4. Welcome to the blog hop! I’m always happy to see another person join. I’m like you with hair cuts–I really should go get mine cut soon!

    Like

  5. Welcome to the TToT! I hope it has helped you get out of the negativity funk. It’s amazing what one little act like writing a list can do for a person’s mood.
    Buying dresses, huh? No particular reason? I used to be so much of a tomboy, people thought I might get married in white sweat pants. In the last few years I’ve come to realize that dresses and skirts can be infinitely more comfortable than shorts and pants.
    Good luck getting your car fixed! It’s not easy to find a time to get things like that done.

    Like

  6. Hello, hello and welcome to the TToT πŸ˜€ What a lovely surprise to find that a Tweet share actually worked SO WELL! We’re on week 67 now (I can hardly believe it) and there’s a linkie tool there, if you want to join up and then a bunch of people from our lovely TToT community will come over and see your post, too πŸ™‚ – http://summat2thinkon.wordpress.com/2014/09/27/ten-things-of-thankful-67/

    I’m so glad you like the idea so much. Every time this happens, I feel delighted at how much of a difference it makes to people to just stop for a moment and focus, and find that there ARE ten things (at least) to be thankful for, even when life seems a bit dire.

    And the rest of your week off to just ‘be’ sounds AWESOME πŸ™‚

    Like

      1. Well, I needed it, at the time! There’s a page on my blog which explains a bit more about the background, but it was an exercise in pulling myself out of Dark Places and keeping going, somehow, til tomorrow.

        Like

Say something- you know you want to!

