Give this girl a dress

Growing up and to a very large extent, even up until my late twenties, I was never really much of a girly-girl. I loathed dresses and skirts and anything that remotely looked frilly. Give me a jeans and a t-shirt and I was happy.

Maybe it had something to do with the fact that I grew up with 3 brothers and was the only girl.

The only dress and skirt in my wardrobe was my school uniform and from standard 8 (grade 10) the school started allowing the girls to wear pants. So guess what I wore?

The only dress I absolutely loved wearing was my Matric farewell dress. I felt like a princess but it was a one –time event and certainly not enough to convince me to buy more dresses.

Much to my mother’s disappointment. She would have sold her kidneys if it would get me to wear a dress.

I wore my first dress to work about 2 years into working for the company. The old accountant nearly had a heart attack when he saw me in a dress. Needless to say, my day was filled with comments about me wearing a dress.

Into my twenties, I started to buy dresses and would buy a dress a year and then only if I had a wedding or an event to wear the dress to.

About 3 years ago and for some explicable reason, I started to wear more and more dresses and skirts. And then I would wear a dress or a skirt about once a week (never a dress and a skirt in 1 week)!

In the last 2 years, I have bought about 10 skirts and 10 dresses.

In the last week, I have worn 3 dresses!

I, in fact, bought a dress with a FLORAL pattern. If you know me, you will know I HATE any sort of floral patterns so to have bought a scarf (last month) and a dress with a floral pattern is quite a feat for me.

And that is not the end of it, I have seen about 5 other dresses that I intend to buy month-end. I could not wait for Spring and Summer so that I can wear dresses.

Who is this person who has taken over my body and what has happened to me?

Here is some dress love –

images courtesy of google
images courtesy of Google
images courtesy of Google
images courtesy of Google
images courtesy of Google
images courtesy of Google
images of courtesy of Google
images of courtesy of Google
images of courtesy of Google
images of courtesy of Google
4 thoughts on “Give this girl a dress

  1. Oh my goodness I was born in LOVE with all things girly and PINK… I thought it would calm down as I got older but I am now 29 and more in love with all things glamour than I have even been before. The dress you litsed are beautiful. For somebody who used to be quite casual you have great style. The second to last is my style. Great blog by the way. Today’s “rant” really made me giggle. I feel like God created offices to force patience haha

    Like

    1. Thanks so much. Trust me, my style always looks better in the pictures than it does on me.
      I used to be quite patient but my yearly quota of patience has been all used up right now.
      Have a great day!

      Like

Say something- you know you want to!

