Not my year – with cars!

I am not the luckiest person in the world especially when it comes to buying appliances or electronics. Guaranteed that if I buy a simple toaster or kettle or iron, I will pick the one that does not work and will have to return it.

This year it seems my luck as turned with appliances because I leave it to the maid to destroy my brand new irons (yes you read right, more than one, because she has destroyed 2 irons) and what ever other appliance that I may have. Lets add a vacuum cleaner to that list – because who uses a broom to sweep tiles? That is what a vacuum cleaner is for!

But I digress.

It seems that the universe has decided that the biggest genre of problems that it will dish on my plate this year will be my car. So yes, I now have problems with my car. Again! Its not if I didn’t have enough problems in the beginning of the year with my previous car or now with the insurance of the lady who drove into me actually taking forever to get the problem resolved and then having to fight for genuine parts because hey, we are talking about insurance companies who will go out of their way to screw you.

It now seems that there is a problem with the cam shaft, I think. At least the repair costs should be covered by the warranty because you do not want to hear what it will cost. I will however not have a car for about 5 days. And then for about another week when it finally goes in for the accident repairs.

This will also happen in the week that I really need my car. Luckily for me, a colleague has a spare car that I can use for the week so that I don’t have to rent a car -because as you probably know, insurances only pay for rental cars if you have an accident and not if you have a mechanical problem. ( If your insurance is the exception, I will be forever grateful for their details and may even owe you a favour).

I am really trying to count my blessings and be positive as I know that technically my problems are sorted ( fingers and toes crossed). I also keep trying to remind myself that there are people who have worse problems, who don’t have someone with a loan car on hand, people who don’t have vehicles or homes or food, or their health but I am finding it really difficult right now to be anything but feel sorry for myself. It is selfish, I know, but I have just absolutely had it with cars this year.

So for tonight, I will grant myself the opportunity to pity myself and smile and wave tomorrow.

Be warned however, I may end up ranting alot this month so you may want to unfollow.

12 thoughts on “Not my year – with cars!

  1. I too know that there are people out there so much worse off than me, but right now I’m not concerned with them and their problems. My main focus and priority is my family, and the issues that we’re facing right now, one of them also car related as you know. So you are 100% allowed to rant and rave and moan about your problems; they affect your life and day-to-day living. I really hope that it is all covered by the warranty and that you’re back in the road in your car ASAP!

    Like

      1. I’ve still got the sniffles, but so much better than last week! Still nothing on the car front; my hubby can’t get finance and it looks like we’ll only be able to try again in November / December, which is just utterly depressing. I do at least have transport; some friends kindly lent me their spare car but I just want to be back in our own car ASAP! Just a crappy situation…

        Like

Say something- you know you want to!

