DAY 1 & 2 OF ACTS OF RANDOM KINDNESS

Yesterday was finally my neighbour’s funeral. I would be lying if I did not say that I was glad it’s over.

But I am even gladder of the turnout from his friends and his one aunt. What makes my heart even happier is the fact that he actually had a funeral, even though it was a graveside funeral. The one thing that bothered me was that he may have had a pauper’s funeral despite the fact that he has quite a sizable estate. As he had no funeral policy, everything is tied up in his estate and his sister in the USA offered to pay for his funeral even though she could not be there. She also sent a poem for the pastor to read on her behalf.

I don’t know if arranging and attending the funeral is really an act of kindness, especially as the funeral arrangements were made before yesterday when my challenge began.

I picked the gardener up for the funeral and he really was devastated. He had also lost a friend of about 20 years.

I spent the afternoon listening to friends regale me of stories of my neighbour and supported his aunt.

Sometimes an act of kindness is simply listening to someone else and offering them that willing ear or a comforting hug. That was my act of kindness for yesterday.

As many of you know, I love animals and my furkids are my life.

Today’s act of kindness was donating to Barking Mad– Dog Town South Africa. They do not believe in putting animals down and do their absolute best to rehome abandoned and abused animals and those that cannot find homes, they look after themselves. If you cannot donate to them, they have a “click to feed” programme and all it costs you is a simple click of a button. All it costs us is a bit of time and data.

3 thoughts on “DAY 1 & 2 OF ACTS OF RANDOM KINDNESS

    1. Thanks, I do still feel a bit akward about it. Absolutely, the gorgeous South Africa, where living amongst the lions does not seem half as bad as the vultures on our doorsteps. Hehehe

      Like

Say something- you know you want to!

