Being Grown Up Is Hard Work

As a child, I could not wait to be all grown up.

I couldn’t wait to be an adult; make my own choices; do what I wanted to do. I couldn’t wait to have a job; buy my first car and my first house.

My childhood was hard but I was loved and cared for and my parents did their best to shelter us from life’s difficulties. My parents made a lot of sacrifices for us and somehow I thought that when I was “all grown up,” I would learn from my parents; make better decisions; do things differently.

That’s what I did. I studied further than anyone in my family and I am what I always wanted to be; what I always dreamed I would be.

But life is not as easy as I thought it would. I have a car, yes, but I have the loan that goes with it. I have a house, yes, but I have a bond that goes with it. I may not face the same problems and difficulties that my parents faced but I have my own problems and difficulties.

I thought that when I was an adult, I would have all the answers; that somehow me being an adult would somehow change the world (or at least how I see it).

I spent so much of my childhood wishing it away, willing it to go quicker, so that I could go study and be a grown up, be what I wanted to be, that I missed out on the one most important thing of simply being a child.

I wish someone had told me what hard work it is to be a grown up.

If I could have a do-over and was asked “What did I want to be when I grew up?”, My answer would simply be ” I will let you know when I am all grown up!”

This post was written in response to *Daily Prompt:Futures Past*”

23/7/2014 Update

Today’sΒ daily prompt questions how far off our adult life is compared to what we imagined it would be when we were children.

I thought that I would link my answer to this post asΒ  I think that is sets out how I feel about being a grown up. I am living my dream in the sense that I am in the occupation that I always wanted and dreamed of being in. It certainly is not as glamorous as what I believed it would be and it certainly is not even close to how it is portrayed on TV and movies. I love who I am and what I do but being grown up is hard work and over-rated. The money that we thought our parents had, they had to work very hard for and we often didn’t see the bills and responsibilities as children.

I think that being grown up represented freedom and the ability to make your own decisions but with that freedom comes a whole lot of responsibility.

18 thoughts on “Being Grown Up Is Hard Work

  1. It is sad that we want our childhood and youth to rush by, that we want to “hurry up and grow up!” I remember feeling exactly the same as you’ve described. If we could somehow convey to our kids and their kids how precious those years are and help them to appreciate just being where they are, when they are.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. As a child, I always wanted to get marry but then as I grew, my mental process witnessed a complete renovation πŸ˜€
    This is the most amazing part about childhood, we don’t realize the actual meaning. We just dream with innocence and ‘fairy tale’ phenomenons. #Wake up Alice, he is gone πŸ™‚

    Like

      1. Sadly working (waitressing) tomorrow, and then stuck in my house until lunch time due to Comrades on Sunday, but I’m actually looking forward to it πŸ™‚ I really enjoy supporting the runners, such an awesome vibe out there πŸ™‚

        Have a wonderful weekend too πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Good luck with work tomorrow. I wish you no problem clients and really good tips.

        Next year we will be cheering you on in the Comrades πŸ™‚

        Like

Say something- you know you want to!

