What’s in a name?

I love names and finding out what a name means. I also love to see if the person’s name matches their personality.

I was always told and when I researched my name a very, very long time ago, the meaning of my name was “charity”. I always felt that this was fitting as I am quite a charitable, giving person.

I recently did a  few searches on what my name meant.

One site says that my name means “precious” “dearly held”. It didn’t really go further. Well I can certainly tell you that I don’t feel either of these but that is most likely because I am so hard on myself. I’m sure my family and friends would agree with this meaning.

Another site has this to say about my name:

English Meaning:  dear one; darling.

French Meaning: Dear one; darling.

Soul Urge Number: 1

People with this name have a deep inner desire to use their abilities in leadership, and to have personal independence. They would rather focus on large, important issues, and delegate the details.

Expression Number: 4

People with this name tend to be orderly and dedicated to building their lives on a solid foundation of order and service. They value truth, justice, and discipline, and may be quick-tempered with those who do not. Their practical nature makes them good at managing and saving money, and at building things in the material world. Because of their focus on order and practicality, they may seem overly cautious and conservative at times.

I agree mostly with the first paragraph although I find it very difficult to delegate as I tend to be quite a perfectionist. More and more, I am delegating work but I keep a very strict eye on it, or try to any way.

The second paragraph describes me to a T.

A third site gives quite a lengthy explanation of my name so I will just include the summary here:

You are cheerful and friendly, but are apt to have an emotional life. You like to have several lines of effort going at once. You are a good talker and promoter and seldom worry over anything. At times, you can be impatient, and impulsive. You have the ability to bring an idea to completion. You can express yourself joyously and constructively. You might be psychic, but not know it. You have an eventful, exciting life. You are versatile and have the ability to learn easily.

Dependable, very down-to-earth and well grounded, you are always looking for meaningful work, a career where you can take pride in your work and do the best job you are capable of. Your prime desire is to build protected and secure environment at home and at work. You can be very persuasive in achieving goals and gaining objectives. You can be very detailed and well-organized and possess great organizational skills. At times you may appear too stubborn and overly critical to others, but your practical approach to life and productivity makes you one of the most beneficent members of community.”

I don’t think that the first paragraph is correct as I worry all the time. I can be impatient and I suppose that some people will call my method of expression exuberant and the constant use of my hands constructive? I, by no means, have an eventful or exciting life.

The second paragraph is all me.

I’m not quite sure how any of these explanations coincide with the meaning of my names “precious” “dear one” “darling” though.

What does your name mean? Do you think your name’s meaning accurately describes who you are?

 

Say something- you know you want to!

