My Thoughts on Valentine’s Day

I have never really been a big fan of valentine’s day.

When I was at school, it felt like one big popularity contest. Who would get the most roses from their friends and secret admirers?

For the retailers, it one big money making scam. Seriously have you seen the prices of chocolates, teddy bears and roses. Come valentine’s day, the prices seem to sky rocket. And worse yet, people actually pay these absurd prices.

But its not the popularity contest or the retailers that bug me so much as the fact that people need to have a day in which they are reminded to show their spouse, or partner or girlfriend how much they mean to you.

If you truly love someone and appreciate the people in your lives, I believe that we need to show them every single day or as often as possible how much they mean to us. For me, it’s not about chocolates, or roses or candle-lit dinners, it’s in the little things. I want to be appreciated and respected and a person’s love for me must show in their actions. I have always believed that actions speak louder than words.

I don’t want somebody to show me one day a year that I’m special to them and then only because everyone else is doing it.

And for me, as Valentine’s day does in fact exist, it is not just about one particular person in my life. Valentine’s day is about love and so I try to make it about all the people in my life who I love.

2 thoughts on “My Thoughts on Valentine’s Day

Say something- you know you want to!

