Making Faces

making faces 1I love to read and nothing relaxes me more than reading.

This weekend  I downloaded the books that I intend to read this holiday. And feeling in a particularly holiday mood, bearing in mind, that I go on leave on Friday, I decided to start reading my holiday collection.

When I start a book, I simply have to finish it. Yesterday afternoon, I started reading Making Faces by Amy Harmon. Because it was just so good and so beautifully written, finishing it really wasn’t a problem.

Making faces really focuses on 3 characters, Fern an ordinary girl; Ambrose, the proverbial  jock (in this case wrestler) who has good looks and everything going for him, and Bailey, Fern’s cousin and best friend who suffers from MS.

The book is set in September 2001, just before the 9/11 attack on the twin towers and the aftermath, with Ambrose leaving to join the Army and returning home after being injured.

The story is heart warming and sad and I choked back tears a number of times. It takes a lot for me to cry over books and movies.

Here are just some of my favourite extracts from the book:

“If God makes all our faces, did he laugh when he made me?

Does he make the legs that cannot walk and eyes that cannot see?

Does he curl the hair upon my head ’til it rebels in wild defiance?

Does he close the ears of the deaf man to make him more reliant?

Is the way I coincidence or just a twist of fate?

If he made me this way, is it okay, to blame him for the things I hate?

For the flaws that seem to worsen every time  I see a mirror,
For the ugliness I see in me, for the loathing and the fear.

Does he sculpt us for his pleasure, for a reason I can’t see?

If God made all our faces, did he laugh when he made me?”

 

“Think about it. There isn’t heartache if there hasn’t been joy. I wouldn’t feel loss if there hadn’t been love.

You couldn’t take my pain away without removing Bailey from my heart. I would rather have this pain now then never have known him.”

making-faces-collage

“True beauty, the kind that doesn’t fade or wash off, takes time. It takes pressure. It takes incredible endurance.

It is the slow drip that makes the stalactite, the shaking of the earth that creates mountains, the constant pounding of the waves that breaks up the rocks and smooths the rough edges. And from the violence, the furor, the raging of the winds, the roaring of the waters, something better emerges, something that would otherwise not exist.

And so we endure. We have faith that there is purpose. We hope for things we can’t see. We believe that there are lessons in loss, power in love, and that we have within us the potential for a beauty so magnificent that our bodies can’t contain it.”

Some beautifully profound lessons that have made me really sit and think.

Making Faces is a must read!

2 thoughts on “Making Faces

Say something- you know you want to!

