Good, Better, Best!

I have always believed in giving my best in absolutely everything that I do and that is what I strive to do.

I would like to think that I am good at what I do and for the most part, I really do love my work. I love being able to help people with their problems. I love the intricacies of law and nothing beats that feeling of winning! I also love that feeling of coming up with a great argument or that feeling that your client has no hope and then finding that something in the law that can actually help them.

My work is however not moon shine and roses and there are many a day that I feel let down by the injustice of our justice system. There are many a day that I share in my client’s disappointment that there is nothing that I (or should I say the law can do for them). For the most part I think I may be even more disappointed.

There are many a day that I go home disappointed in myself and that I wonder if I am good at what I do and if I have done enough.

What would I like to be better at? There are so many aspects of my work that I would like to be better at. The law is changing all the time and to be better at the law would probably mean working even longer hours than what I am currently working and would mean no life for me.

I have come to the realisation that there is so much more to life than work, and whilst I am so exceptionally grateful for my work and love it, I also want to live my life.

So what I would really like to be better at? Baking!

Baking is the one thing that lets me totally relax and forget about the world around me. For those few hours, I am totally absorbed and focussed on what I am doing- and yes, I am also busy berating myself because the cake doesn’t look like I want it to look, like the picture in my head, or there is now a crack in the fondant or whatever. I am quite a perfectionist. But even while berating myself, I am allowing myself to just escape this mundane world of mine and just be.2012-11-16 18.10.48

2012-11-16 18.11.15

So yes, I would like to be able to do all the fancy writing with icing without a shaky hand, make wonderful fondant figures and ultimately make exquisite cakes.

2013-01-17 21.53.01

 2013-02-03 14.57.58

 2013-02-03 14.57.52

That is what I would like to be better at!

*this post was written in response to “Daily Prompt: I Have confidence in me*

3 thoughts on “Good, Better, Best!

Say something- you know you want to!

