It’s Their Party

On Saturday, Devon and Jekita had a joint birthday party at Spur. It must be said that this is the first year that Marius has made an effort for the kids and it is also the first birthday party that Jekita has had.

Devon turned 11 on 4 November 2013. Can you believe how time flies? Oh Yolandi, I still remember the first time I held him in my arms. It was the best day of my life. I had finally been reunited with you, my long-lost friend, at a time that I needed you most and you had the most beautiful boy. He really is the apple of my eye and will always hold  the most special place in my heart.

Jekita turns 4 on Sunday and she is the most beautiful little girl. She is just as head strong and stubborn as you. But oh, how she can love! She is so friendly and kind. She is so like you!

Actually today is the day 4 years ago that I had my last conversation with you. I remember getting the phone call from Marius saying that they need to do an emergency caesarean and that I had to come immediately. That was 9h30 the morning. However with the 94.7 cycle challenge being that Sunday, all the roads were closed and I eventually only got to see you at about 14h30.

Seeing you was short-lived when I passed out in your hospital room, most likely from driving the whole and from the heat. I remember you being so concerned about me and that I told you I was fine and would see you soon with Jekita.

Back to the party, Devon had an absolute ball with all his friends and I can’t remember the last time that I have seen him so happy. I gave him my lucky charm that I got from you in std 3 as a lucky charm for him now that he is in std 3. I wish that you could have seen his face, although deep down, I know that you were watching.

Jekita was also running around all over the place and every now and again she would run over to her presents. Your dad kept telling her that she can play with them when she gets home. She would then get upset and run off and play.

Marius arranged a cake for her and Devon. Devon’s cake was a bit of a flop but it is the thought that counts. Jekita however loved her barbie laying on the beach cake.

Oh Yolandi, Devon and Jekita really are the most amazing kids. They are so like you so you can never be far from our thoughts.

You will also be so very proud of Devon. He passed with 78% and got a certificate at prize- giving. He just missed being in the top 10.

I can’t wait to get the photos from your mom and then I will post them here.

Say something- you know you want to!

