Thankful Thursday: The Gift of Life

My grandfather is dead 3 years today. Last night my mom’s aunt passed away on my brother’s birthday.

I also previously wrote how I hate this time of the year as it just reminds me of death in “End of Year Trepidations“.

I thought that the apt thing to be thankful for today is the gift of life; something that we take for granted every single day. We always just assume that tomorrow is another day and that we will be there to see it, to share it with our loved ones.

We often lose sight of how life can change in the blink of an eye. I know this better than most when my mom had a car accident last year. I had literally seen her about an hour before her car accident. I had just gotten back to work from seeing my mom when my brother called to say that she had been in a terrible car accident. At that stage, he couldn’t even tell me whether she was alive or not.

We so often forget how fragile life is and just how mortal we are. Today, I’m thankful to be alive to see another day so far and for the gift of my life. May I learn not to take it for granted so much.

4 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday: The Gift of Life

  1. hi C, what a great post..so true!

    Cool way to look at it is God didn’t add another day in your life because you needed it. He added it because someone out there needs you. (dr dave martin)

    Like

Say something- you know you want to!

