My Piece of Heaven

2013-10-13 17.00.57

I absolutely love the ocean and the beach!  I love the sound of the waves crashing on the rocks and just the sound of the ocean in general. I love the smell of the sea air. I love the feel of the sand between my toes and the water rushing up my feet.

I’m not sure if it has anything to do with the fact that I was born in Port Elizabeth although we moved to Johannesburg when I was  3 or 4 years old. The first time that I saw the ocean and the beach that I can remember was when we went on holiday to Port Elizabeth in 1994. I was 12 at the time. I remember that the first stop that we made driving into Port Elizabeth was the beach and I have loved it ever since.

I have been back to Port Elizabeth a few times since then. I have been to Cape Town, Port Edward and Durban and coming back to Johannesburg is always very, very hard.

The idea of leaving the ocean behind is daunting. There is something about the ocean that calms me. I could sit, listen and watch the waves rushing onto the beach for hours. It’s almost as if the world disappears around me and the only thing that matters is the ocean. I feel at peace, as if the weight of every worry is lifted off my shoulders. I love falling asleep with the waves in the background.

I have been wanting a walk on the beach for the longest time this year. When I went to Cape Town earlier in June, the weather was terrible and I didn’t get to walk on the beach. When I went to Durban, this past Sunday, the weather was also not good. At best, I got to walk along the walkway along the beach.

For now, that is enough and the few minutes that I spent walking watching the beach and the waves was my piece of heaven.

2013-10-13 17.03.58

2013-10-13 16.50.02

3 thoughts on “My Piece of Heaven

  1. yeah, a great plan to work towards!

    all of my brothers have moved to the coast already..2 in langebaan & one in ballito…and managing to run their businesses from there which is cool!!

    good thing about jhb is that we are pretty much equidistant between the ocean and the bush…another one of my favourites 🙂

    Like

Say something- you know you want to!

