And I Slept…

As I mentioned before in one of my posts “To Sleep, Perchance to sleep“, I have always been a very bad sleeper.

I don’t often have a night’s sleep where I am dead to the world and wake up feeling refreshed. I dream all the time and it’s as if my mind is always busy.

On Sunday, I flew to Durban for an application that we had in the High Court, Pietermartizburg. Because we had only received late confirmation that I would also need to attend the application, we only booked my ticket late Friday afternoon. Thus, I couldn’t get a flight for Monday morning and spent the night in Durban. And I’m certainly not complaining.

I fell into bed at about 21h00 and fell asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow. I was awakened nearly an hour later by my phone ringing and it felt like I had been asleep for hours. Needless to say, I thought that this was a “late- night, bad news phone call”, just to realise that I hadn’t been asleep that long and it was just my mother calling.

In my sleepy haze, I answered the call and fell right back to sleep after the call ended.

I woke just before 5h00, with the sound of the birds chirping, feeling awake and refreshed, waiting for my alarm to go off.

It was the best night’s sleep that I have had in a long time and not a single dream (that I know of).

Say something- you know you want to!

