Breathe, Just Breathe

This time of year always seems to be exceptionally busy; everything is urgent and needs to be finalised before the offices of our clients, and ours, closes for the December holidays.

Most small to medium law offices close in December as their clients are closed for the holidays. This provides me with a well-deserved breather and break (most times). Despite the fact that I may take leave during the year, there is always that urgent matter that comes up and that has to be dealt with during my leave.

After our offices closed last year, I had a call from a client after 16h00 needing me to proceed with an urgent application. Had it not been for the fact that under his circumstances, I could do nothing about the matter until the new year, I would in all likelihood have had to go back into the office. During my leave this year, I had to finalise contracts for a transaction that we had been negotiating. As Murphy’s law would have it, and despite repeated follow-ups wherein the contracts were not needed, it would be needed when I was on leave.

This is also the time of the year when my patience is really tried and I am at the end of my tether. I am tired. I am easily angered and get annoyed at the smallest things. Just sitting in my office attempting to write this, I am exceptionally annoyed by the building that has been going on next door and the racket that they have been causing for the last 3 months.

It’s at this time of the year that I wonder what on earth made me decide to be a lawyer and why I didn’t choose a 9h00- 17h00 job.

It is this time of the year, with the finish line in sight, that I have to remind myself the most to ; Breathe, Just Breathe.

*This post was written in response to “The Daily Prompt: Exhale

11 thoughts on “Breathe, Just Breathe

Say something- you know you want to!

