IT’S POURING

As the saying goes; It never rains – it pours. In my case- it storms!

My weekend began with my mother telling me that she no longer has a job. It seems her boss decided to sell the business and the employees are not being kept on by the new owners. Whilst, this is against the law and my mother has the right to sue both her previous boss and the new owners, this is in itself a long process that will not be resolved overnight.

This is further exasperated by the fact that my mom and family are dependant on the income that she receives. As it is, the income that my mom and family receives is not sufficient to make ends meet and I have to supplement their income during the month. The difficulty I face is that I somehow have to find the income to make up for my mom’s loss of income as well as the portion that I supplement every month.

As if things could possibly get worst, my mom arrived unannounced at my home this morning. Not that I mind but this is not like my mom and I immediately knew something was wrong. I thought that my brothers had upset her and that she had decided to just “get away from it all”.

I asked her what was wrong and she didn’t want to tell me. I made her a cup of tea and waited for her to tell me what was wrong.

About a half an hour passed and she started crying. My mom hardly ever cries. She just needed to speak to someone she says. She is sorry that she has to burden me with her problems yet again.

She doesn’t know what to do. It seems that things have been far worse financially than what she wanted me to know and now she feels guilty about losing her job. It seems that my mother and brothers did not want me to know the extent of their difficulties as I was doing so much for them already and I had my own problems so they didn’t want to burden me with theirs- yet again.

My brothers had been retrenched a few times, and with it being so difficult to find work, my family found themselves in over their heads.

It utterly breaks my heart to see my family in this position, each of them blaming themselves, feeling like they should be doing more, when they are doing the absolute best that they can. It breaks my heart when I see how hard they work and how much they give to others around them without thinking of themselves. It breaks my heart to see the sacrifices that they make. And yet it seems like they are not getting anywhere.

I don’t know what I’m going to do as yet but I’ll think of something- I hope!

As they say, it can’t rain all the time. And after this storm, there had better be one big ass rainbow!

2 thoughts on “IT’S POURING

  1. breaks my heart to read this…very hard times for all…will keep you and your family in my prayers and am sure that rainbow is on its way 🙂 take care

    Like

Say something- you know you want to!

