What More Do I Need?

I thought last year was tough on me, but boy oh boy, I was not ready for what this year has thrown at me.

As soon as I think I have overcome one problem, I’m faced with not one or only two but a number of different problems. Each one being a different anchor pulling me deeper and deeper into the dark abyss. Each one taking a piece of my soul with it.

This year has been hard; emotionally, spiritually and physically. I feel exhausted.

On top of all the problems, I’m a worrier by nature so I simply able not able to switch off, for even a moment, and not worry about whatever problem may be weighing me down.

I was having a particularly bad day yesterday, thinking about absolutely everything that was wrong with my life; pitying myself.

I was struck with the thought: I keep thinking about absolutely everything that is wrong with my life. BUT what about the things that are good about my life? What about the things I do have, the small things that I take for granted every day? I have so much to be thankful and grateful for, so much that others wished they had.

It made me think about what I really have:

I have a job- In this economy, I have the privilege of being able to earn a salary every month.

I have a car- it may not be the car I want, but I don’t have to worry about how I’m going to get to work or where I need to be or walk in the cold to catch public transport. I don’t have to get up at 4 every morning to only get to work at 7 and only arrive home after 7 at night because I am reliant on public transport.

I have a home- It may not be the house I wanted but it is a roof over my head, my place of safety, my comfort at the end of a long day.

I have food to eat and I don’t have to worry about where my next meal will come from. I don’t have to stand on the street corners in the cold and beg for food.

I have warm clothes, warm blankets, fresh water; so many things that I take for granted each day.

I have friends, People that care about me and are always willing to lend a helping hand.

I am healthy.

But most of all, I am LOVED beyond comprehension. I have a family that will love and support me through thick and thin. I need only call and they will rush to my aid. A family who I adore and who adores me back. What more do I need?

I’m Blessed!

Say something- you know you want to!

