FEARFULLY AND WONDERFULLY MADE

Have you ever compared yourself to someone else or other people and just thought I wish I was so and so? Or thought “I wish I had hair like that, legs like that, or was as outgoing and friendly as so and so”.

Have you ever just looked or thought of someone and just felt simply not good enough? If you haven’t, you are either not being honest with yourself right now or you are one of the lucky few who are confident and happy in who they are.

I am not one of those lucky few – I permanently compare myself to others and more often than not simply don’t feel “good enough”. I was mostly shy growing up and never felt comfortable in my own skin. Neither was I ever happy with what I achieved or how I excelled. I always felt somebody else was better, could do better than me.

I was having one of those very moments  – comparing myself to someone else – when I was reminded of a bible verse back in the day when I was a Sunday School teacher and youth pastor: “you are fearfully and wonderfully made!”

I realised right then and there – I AM GOOD ENOUGH! BEING ME IS GOOD ENOUGH!

I was so shocked by this epiphany that I made a note and stuck it to my cupboard so that I am always reminded that I am fearfully and wonderfully made.

You may be thinking that I should have had this revelation ages ago and to grow up. The fact of the matter is that most people go through their whole lives unhappy because they are comparing themselves to others, wishing they were somebody else, or simply not feeling good enough.

I’m glad that I have gotten to the point in my life where I can say that I am enough and be happy with who I am. I can now focus on being a better version of me. The truth is there is and always will only be one me.

Say something- you know you want to!

